Summer Sunsets

One of my favourite things to do on a perfect summer’s evening is watch the sunset. This weekend’s plan for camping fell through unfortunately, but that didn’t stop me from spending time outdoors. Adam and I hopped on our bikes and made a quick pit stop at the grocery store, picked up picnicking essentials (meat, cheese, veggies & hummus, plus pack of Red Truck Classic Lager) and made our way to Third Beach near Stanley Park. Little did we know, it is the Celebration of Lights in Vancouver for the next few days, so English Bay was already packed with people setting up camp for the evening’s display of fireworks. It was madness. Thankfully for us, we pedalled on, and once we reached Third Beach, the majority of people had already started packing up. Third beach snakes around the edge of Stanley Park that doesn’t allow the best site for seeing the fireworks, hence peoples’ timely departure. We listed to our spotify summer tunes, snacked on my beach blanket I bought years ago on a layover in Barcelona, and watched the sun set side by side reading our books. Sometimes the times not filled with conversation, but sitting in and soaking up the silence of a moment, make for the best memories.

LRM_EXPORT_42448632751853_20190728_202226452

This last week was trying on the soul with the early wake ups, delays because of thunderstorms, & being on call with no idea when I was going to get home. Witnessing this beauty of a sunset, with my toes in the sand really helped ground me for the week ahead!

Leave a comment